If you or anyone you know owns residential rental property in Ohio please read the following information so that you are not in violation of Ohio Code. Owners must register with the county in which their rental property is located. The forms are available through the Cincinnati area county auditor websites.
Ohio Revised Code Section (R.C.) 5323.02 requires an owner of residential rental property to register a contact agent for that property with the auditor’s office within 60 days (including weekends and holidays) following the day a real property conveyance form for that property is filed with the county auditor. Failure to file this information in a timely manner may result in the assessment of a penalty of up to $150 against the property that is the subject of the violation. Residential property under this umbrella does not include a hotel or a university dorm.
If there are multiple individual owners of the residential rental property, only one owner has to file as the contact agent. If the property is owned by the following ownership vehicles the individual who must file is in parentheses next to the type of the ownership: trust (trustee), business trust (trustee), estate partnership (executor or administrator), limited partnership (general partner), limited liability company (member, mgr, or officer), association (associate), corporation (officer) or other business entity (member, mgr, or officer).
If you need assistance with this process please contact me and I can email you the form for your county.